Board of Directors


Kwangsuk Yoon (2015-2018)

  • AERA Division
    • K: Teaching and Teacher Education
    • SIGs: Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis

    Kwang Suk Yoon was a principal research scientist at American Institutes for Research. His research interests include teacher professional development, teacher quality and effectiveness, student and teacher motivation, evidence-based policies and practices, and systematic review of intervention studies. At AIR, he managed the What Works Clearinghouse project.



Soo-yong ByunSoo-yong Byun (2016-2019)

  • Affiliation:  The Pennsylvania State University
  • AERA Division
    • G: Social Context of Education
    • SIGs: Sociology of Education, Rural Education

Soo-yong Byun is an associate professor of Educational Theory and Policy in the Department of Education Policy State at Penn State. His research investigates variations in mechanisms and processes of social stratification across different countries and geographic contexts using large-scale national and international data. His work also focuses on the rigorous assessment and evaluation of educational policies and school interventions especially relating to unique populations and contexts (e.g., socioeconomically disadvantaged students, and rural students).


Vice President

Eun-Ok Baek (2017-2020)

  • Affiliation: California State University, San Bernardino
  • AERA Division
    • C: Learning and Instruction
    • SIGs: Instructional Technology; Learning Sciences

Eun-Ok Baek is a Professor of the College of Education at California State University, San Bernardino. She served as the Korean-American Educational Researchers Association (KAERA) Communication Director from 2013 to 2015. Her research interests include exploring what technology can do for the support of learning and performance, and specifically, the designing of online learning communities, technology integration in education, and the exploration of social-cultural understandings of the adoption of technology.


Past President

Kyung (Chris) T. Han (2015-2018)

  • Affiliation:  Graduate Management Admission Council (GMAC)
  • AERA Division
    • D: Measurement and Research Methodology
    • National Council on Measurement in Education (NCME)

Kyung (Chris) T. Han ( is a senior psychometrician, director at the Graduate Management Admission Council responsible for designing various test programs, including the Graduate Management Admission Test® (GMAT®) exam, and conducting psychometric research to improve and ensure the quality of the test programs.



Guemin Lee (2015-2018)

  • Affiliation: Yonsei University
  • AERA Division
    • D: Measurement & Research Methodology

Guemin Lee is a professor of Education Department and a director of Institute of Education Research at Yonsei University. His research interest includes item response theory, generalizability theory, large-scale test development, scaling and equating.



Jaekyung Lee (2015-2018)

  • Affiliation: University at Buffalo, SUNY

Jaekyung Lee is Dean and Professor in the Graduate School of Education at the University at Buffalo, SUNY. He is a fellow of American Educational Research Association (AERA) and the recipient of 2007 AERA Early Career Award. He specializes in educational policy analysis and the author of The Anatomy of Achievement Gaps (Oxford University Press).


Eun Young Kim (2017-2020)

  • Affiliation: Korean Educational Development Institute (KEDI)

Eun Young Kim is a research fellow in KEDI. She has been involved in various higher and international education projects at both national and international levels, such as Evaluation of Korean National Universities; OECD’s In-depth Analysis of Labor Market Outcomes of Higher Education, Implementation plans for Post-2015 Educational Development Cooperation agenda, and Developing ASEM Education Ministers’ Meeting Agenda. She received her Ph.D. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She holds a directorial position of Office of Public Relations and International Affairs of KEDI, and she is an editorial board member for both KEDI Journal of Educational Policy and Journal of Korean Education.


Won-Chan Lee (2017-2020)

  • Affiliation: University of Iowa
  • AERA Division:
    • D: Measurement and Research Methodology
    • National Council on Measurement in Education

Won-Chan Lee is Professor of Psychological and Quantitative Foundations at the University of Iowa, and Director of the Center for Advanced Studies in Measurement and Assessment. He has served as General Administrator, Vice President, and President of KAERA. His research addresses measurement error and reliability, item response theory, generalizability theory, linking, equating, and scaling.


Jae Hoon Lim (2017-2020)

  • Affiliation: the University of North Carolina at Charlotte
  • AERA Division
    • G: Social Context of Education
    • SIG: Qualitative Research

Jae Hoon Lim is an associate professor of Educational Research at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte. Her research explores the intersection of gender, race, and class in STEM education through various qualitative research methods. She has served as a qualitative evaluator for multiple federal grants supporting STEM education initiatives. She was President of KAERA in 2013-2014.